Landolfi String Quartet Live Stream

Landolfi String Quartet Live Stream

Members of the Landolfi String Quartet in partnership with the Gateway Festival Orchestra performs the Mozart Viola Quintet, K.516 and other selected pieces on Thursday, April 15 at 7pm CST.

This event is over. Please be sure to check out our Upcoming Events for more live stream concerts!

About Mozart’s Viola Quintet

The Quintet in G Minor, K.516 was composed in 1787 when Mozart was 31 years old. It is considered by many historians to be one of the greatest works of chamber music in all the literature. It is written for two violins, two violas, and one cello which expands the classic string quartet. The instrumentation gave greater freedom to express the darkness of the key of G minor. Tchaikovsky said of Mozart: “No one has ever known as well how to interpret so exquisitely in music the sense of resigned and inconsolable sorrow.”

About Landolfi String Quartet

The Landolfi String Quartet and Ensemble has become a St. Louis institution with a history of stellar musical performances at a variety of area events. We have strong classical roots but the Quartet can also bring a rock ‘n roll attitude to any performance or refine today’s most popular music for a more elegant event.

Members performing today:

Deberah Haferkamp, 1st Violin
Carl Hoff, 2nd Violin
Steve Wamsley, 1st Viola
John Meurer, 2nd Viola
Gary Lee, Cello

Sign up for Newsletter Updates